For the Media

Media Relations Contacts

Hartford HealthCare welcomes inquiries from media outlets. Someone is always available to take your calls. All inquiries must come through the Media Relations Departments. Hartford HealthCare’s staff includes many nationally-recognized experts in a host of medical fields and our media relations teams are happy to connect reporters and producers with these specialists. We know you’re on deadline and will work as quickly as we can.

Before reporters can interview patients or their doctors, patients must sign a release form. To protect the privacy of all other patients and families, someone from Media Relations must accompany all reporters and photographers on any campus.


The media relations team is happy to connect reporters and producers with any of our specialists:

Hartford HealthCare:

Rebecca Stewart
Director, Media Relations and Marketing
860.972.4285 (phone)
860.726.8283 (cell)
rebecca.stewart@hhchealth.org


Hartford Region:

Hartford Hospital

Rebecca Stewart
Director, Media Relations and Marketing
860.972.4285 (phone)
860.726.8283 (cell)
rebecca.stewart@hhchealth.org

Tina Varona
Media Relations Manager
860.972.4475
tina.varona@hhchealth.org


Central Region:

The Hospital of Central Connecticut

Eveline Shaffer-Shekman
860.803.1510

Kimberly Gensicki
kimberly.gensicki@hhchealth.org
860.
224.5900 X6507

MidState Medical Center

Eveline Shaffer-Shekman
860.803.1510

Pamela Cruz
Pamela.Cruz@hhchealth.org
203.694.8732


East Region:

Backus & Windham Hospitals

Steve Coates
Steve.Coates@hhchealth.org
860.634.4477

Shawn Mawhiney
Shawn.Mawhiney@hhchealth.org
860.889.8331 x 2312


Outpatient Services:

Hartford HealthCare at Home

Melissa Dethlefsen
Melissa.Dethlefsen@hhchealth.org
860.696.2533

Clinical Lab Partners

Amber Sadosky
Amber.Sadosky@clpct.com
860.696.8328


Hartford HealthCare Behavioral Health Network:

The Institute of Living, Natchaug Hospital, Rushford

Matt Burgard
Matt.Burgard@hhchealth.org
203.238.6856


Senior Health Services:

Hartford HealthCare Senior Services, Connecticut Center for Healthy Aging, Arbor Rose at Jerome Home, The Orchards at Southington, Southington Care Center, Mulberry Gardens of Southington, Jerome Home, Jefferson House, Cedar Mountain Commons

Erika Stinson
StinsonE@ctseniorcare.org
860.378.1283


Rehabilitation:

Hartford HealthCare Rehabilitation Network

Melissa Dethlefsen
Melissa.Dethlefsen@hhchealth.org
860.696.2533


Physician Practices:

Hartford HealthCare Medical Group

medgroupcommunications@hhchealth.org

Integrated Care Partners

Debra Durbin
Debra.Durbin@hhchealth.org
860.972.4696


Release of Patient Information

Privacy regulations issued by the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA) strictly govern the use and release of a patient's personal health information. As a member of the media, here is what you need to know if you want information about a Hospital HealthCare patient:

  • Media Relations must first check to see that the patient has not secured his/her privacy, in which case we would be unable to release any information. Patients have the right to deny the release of information about their condition. For a minor, the parent or guardian has the authority to make that decision.
  • You must have the patient's first and last name before we can release a condition. Without a name, condition reports can't be released.
  • If you have the patient's first and last name, the only information that may be released to the media is a one-word condition report.
  • Patients have the right to deny the release of any information about their condition - even that one-word condition report. For a minor, the parent or guardian has the authority to make that decision.

Here are the one-word patient conditions we can release:

Good: Vital signs are stable and within normal limits. Patient is conscious and comfortable; indicators are excellent.

Fair: Vital signs are stable and within normal limits. Patient is conscious but may be uncomfortable; indicators are favorable.

Serious: Vital signs may be unstable and not within normal limits. Patient is acutely ill; indicators are questionable.

Critical: Vital signs are unstable and not within normal limits. Patient may not be conscious; indicators are unfavorable.

Windham Hospital